Not just another fitness and nutrition site

If At First You Don’t Succeed…

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again! and try, try, try some more!!…and one more time!

It seems like that has been the saying of my life lately, and some things just do not come easy for me! Sometimes, I look around at everything that is going on around me and feel like I have to work so much harder than others to get what I want. This often relates to work and school, but more recently with my own personal goals.

Take for example, marathon running. After I did my first race at the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Marathon, finishing in a little over 5 hours in much pain with horrible blisters, I set the goal to run fast enough in order to qualify for the Boston Marathon. That would mean running 26.2 miles in under 3 hours and 40 minutes (8.4 min/ mile). The time, 3:40, is a time that would be engraved in my head for the next 2 and 1/2 years…. Because that is how long it took me to qualify, and I ran 8 more marathons in that time frame to do so! I remember talking to several people that qualified on their first marathon, and wondered why it was so much harder for me. Did they want it more? Did they train harder? Did they eat, sleep, and dream of qualifying more than me? Maybe. But I really think they were just faster naturally. Whatever the reason though, I still had to work harder to get that fast. Or, at least it felt that way!

Now, the same goes for competing in NPC Bikini competitions. I competed in my first NPC show at the Atlantic States NY in 2010 and placed 10 out of 18. I didn’t do too bad, but I had the same feeling as after I ran my first marathon: I knew I could do better and I wanted to do better! So I made The Goal: to win a show and turn Ifbb Pro. To date, I have competed in 7 NPC shows. Does that mean I need to compete 2 more before turning Ifbb pro? Perhaps so! One show to win local and another to win nationally?? Well, however many it is, each show has brought me and will bring me closer to my goal, little by little. My shoulders get a little rounder, my abs get a little tighter (unfortunately my thunder thighs never go away but that’s another story), and my presentation gets a little cleaner. Sometimes I might tweak too much here, too much there, but it is all a learning experience for me. And it is certainly healthier than lying on the couch eating potato chips!

So, however many shows it takes to do, I will do. As long as I am always learning, growing, improving and having fun…which I am! So maybe this saying is a good one: If at first you don’t succeed, try try try again and try try try some more!!….and one more time! Because, if it is only the journey that matters, not the destination, then I get to have that much more journey to enjoy! See me below, enjoying my journey yesterday at the NPC Excalibur in Culver City, LA. I’m chillin’ with big bro Pete and beautiful Khay Rosemond!

20111204-181749.jpg

2 responses

  1. TheOldMan

    I believe it was Alexander Hamilton who said: “Those who stand for nothing fall for everything.”
    I can only guess how he intended that line to be read; but I have seen
    this in my own life: without a purpose one is a follower, always takIng the path of least resistance. Whatever others decide, they too go along with…follow the crowd so to speak. They are everyone else’s person instead of their own.
    Admittedly, there is much to be gained in “doing for others;” but only as long as that “doing” is voluntary and does not restrict personal growth.
    I have heard it said that the difference between the “haves” and the “have-nots” can be traced back to the people who did – and the people who did not. Thomas Paine put it best when he said: “Lead, follow, or get out of the way.”
    And you, dear Paulina are clearly leading the way!

    December 5, 2011 at 1:58 am

    • Lol, well I hope no one is following me…because I don’t really know where I am going!! I just know it’s going to be warm and sunny!!

      December 5, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Leave a Reply

