Not just another fitness and nutrition site

Not Only is Bruce Lee Hot, He is Really Smart…

One of the things that I hate to admit the most is that I have failed. The word failure, F!, has such a negative feeling associated with it, that it is no longer part of my life!

I recently decided this when making the decision to push back the date of my next NPC bikini competition from March to April, then to May, then finally to June! At first, I felt very badly about this. The reason was because my physique just was not going to be where it needed, and more importantly, where I wanted it to be in order to reach my desired level of success. After some time of training and dieting, I was disappointed and upset with myself that I had to make this decision. I worked hard to get where I was, and to push back the date because I wouldn’t be ready made me feel like I was failing!

I hate failing! I hate the feeling so much that I even tricked myself into thinking that I did not want to compete. How can I fail at something I don’t want, right? I stopped going to the gym, I stopped eating my healthy foods, I stopped thinking about the shows, and I even ignored writing a blog! I think I even ate some ice cream that I didn’t want just in spite of it all! That lasted a week… 🙂

Then I got sick, and that lasted a week…

So now, here I am, two weeks later, with a little less muscle, a little more flab, feeling way more “not ready” than before, and not to mention, way behind on my running schedule for the NYC half marathon! I am sure I am being overly dramatic because in the big scheme of things it really doesn’t matter, but still, all of this because I was mad about feeling like a failure! So, I have decided, failure is no longer part of my life. If there is something that I want to succeed at but can’t or haven’t, I have the power to change it. I have the power to change it so that I do succeed, and therefore I never fail but am constantly learning and living.

That will be my new mindset as I go into the next 14 weeks of dieting and training. But, I have to figure out why I wasn’t ready or where I needed to be. What do I need to change?

– Well, I already posted about the areas that I needed to focus on so I know what training I need to do. See Living Art – A Work in Progress

– I attended a nutrition seminar by one of the best in the industry so I know my nutrition is on point. (Thanks Pete Ciccone – 619muscle!)

– Everyone at the gym looks at me like I am crazy so I know I am training with passion…

I guess I will just have to keep on searching (and meantime be inspired by this poster of Bruce Lee)!

20120207-125012.jpg

3 responses

  1. The Old Man

    Every life has its share of pain and blessings. Sorrow, wonder, failure and success too. With our every thought, with our every word and deed, we create a path all our own. In taking responsibility for our choices, we dictate the quality of our experiences, improve our relationships and in fact…the whole of our life’s journey. The “key” is to accept that path gracefully, doing what you can with what you have at any given moment.

    February 13, 2012 at 7:10 am

  2. Are you saying that I need to be more graceful about failing? and not post any blogs about it? LOL

    I guess that I could not accept it gracefully because I was not doing what I could with what I had OR that I did not have enough in those moments to do what I wanted to do!!

    February 15, 2012 at 12:03 am

  3. Not at all: I am simply saying that with a certain frame of mind/ attitude, failure may be thought of as a step closer to success. Not everyone gets everything right FIRST TRY! Hence, failing is OK so long as one does not consider the falling short of one’s goal as thier limit to that goal. Instead, accept the shortcoming and move on with even more vitality…knowing you are now THAT MUCH CLOSER to success!

    February 15, 2012 at 4:46 am

Leave a Reply

